I was doing a google search on myself, as I am sometimes wont to do and ran across this press release from my senior year in college:

For Immediate Release
June 3, 2003 Public Information Office
310 Owen Hall, Campus PO 1820
Asheville, NC 28804-8507
828/251-6526 – FAX: 828/251-6777
web: http://www.unca.edu/news
e-mail: pubinfo@unca.edu
UNCA Students, Faculty and Staff Honored with
Academic and Leadership Awards

UNC Asheville recently presented academic and leadership awards to UNCA students, faculty and staff members at a ceremony at the Diana Wortham Theatre. The annual presentation was sponsored by the Office of Student Life and the Student Government Association.
The following awards were presented:

Campuswide Leadership Awards: Carolyn Briggs Individual Award for Contributions to Diversity to Tahda Alexandra Ahtone, Meghan Marshall Bean-Smith, Christopher Benton Littlefield, Sean Mitchell McDonald, Winston Craig Rose and Porscha Rae Young; Carolyn Briggs Organization Award for Contributions to Diversity to Nucleus; Individual Award for Outstanding Dedication to Community Service to Matthew Arthur Sandbank; Organization Award for Rotaract UNCA; Organization Advisor of the Year Award to Richard Chess; Outstanding Organization of the Year to Asian Students in Asheville and the Humanities Student Association; Organization President of the Year to Leah Grace Chang, ASIA and Joseph B. Howard, Humanities Student Association; Emerging Leader of the Year Award to Tahda Alexander Ahtone, Meghan Marshall Bean-Smith, Michael Dean Bowers, Anushka Kathleen Jagdeo, Genessa Karen Jagdeo, Molly Catherine Murtola and Elizabeth Robin Poole; Leadership Scholars Award to Lacy Little and Dara Jones; and Outstanding Leader of the Year Award to Kelly Lynn Budnik and Winston Craig Rose.

Student Affairs Faculty Member of the Year Award to Jacqueline Mattingly, assistant professor of music, and the Staff Member of the Year Award to Connie Schaller, Facilities Management customer service supervisor.

Art: Outstanding Student Awards to Laura Aultman, Penelope Gatlin and Skip Rohde.

Athletics: Male Athlete of the Year to Andre Smith; Female Athlete of the Year to Leslie Whitfield; and Scholar Athlete of the Year to Jeremy Schrader.

Atmospheric Sciences: Award of Academic Excellence to Jonathon Lamb and Departmental Service Award to Eric Barber and Emily Gracey.

Biology: Harry Henry Johnston Award for Excellence in Biology to Margaret Elizabeth Kelley and Bernhardt-Perry Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research to Joshua Allen Kelly.

Chemistry: American Chemical Society Western Carolinas Section and Chemistry Department Award for Outstanding Chemistry Senior to Melinda Rae Beaver and Michael Sean Roach; Most Valuable Senior Award to Christina Rae Ellis; Outstanding Performance in Organic Chemistry Award to James Burkett McIntruff III; Outstanding Performance in Analytical Chemistry Award to Jacob Franklin Berkowitz and Neil Franklin Gandy; Outstanding Performance in General Chemistry Award to Oksana Zaluzhna; Outstanding American Chemical Society Student Affiliate Member Award to Christina Rae Ellis and Amanda Leah Rollins; and National Science Foundation Summer Research Awards to William C. Everett, Christopher A. McGuire, Hayley N. Schiebel, Brooke M. Sibila, Maegan K. Spencer and Brian E. Winslett.

Classics: Guy Cooper and Elizabeth Ray Award in Classics to Joseph Deveaugh-Geiss.

Drama: Certificate of Merit to Dove Engle, Katie Haynes, Johannes Pikel and Jenny Prather.

Economics: Dana Zimmerman Service Award, Outstanding Performance Award and Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Excellence in Finance Award to Laura Leigh Simpson; Keith and Kevin Davis Research Award to Matthew Fountain Raker; and David Reiner Award to Raymond Mendiola Gutierrez Jr. and Sally Elizabeth Pinckney.

Education: Leadership Award to Amanda Arwe, Melanie Currie, Jamie Jambon and Mary McAvoy and Academic Award to Lisa Carver, Ellen Dittmar, Melinda Galloway, Jamie Jambon, Stephanie Lemly, Mary McAvoy and Abbey Moring.

Foreign Languages: Department Distinction in French to Jessie Shuman and Emily Seymour; Department Distinction in Spanish to Alyssa Dillow and Jamie Jambon; Travis Bradley Book Award in French to Jessie Shuman; Dan Edwards Book Prize in German to Laura Freidrich; Lawrence Little Book Award in Spanish to Alyssa Dillow; and R.C. Reynolds Scholarship for German to Kurt F. Galloway and Sean McNay.

History: Philip Walker Award to Farid Khasanov; Phi Alpha Theta Award to Joseph B. Howard; Best Senior Thesis Award to Heidi Rollins Fairbanks; Mark Lawson Scholarship to Jennifer Wallace; and Ruth Feldman Outstanding Senior Award to Katrina Tschekunow.

Key Center for Service Learning: Scholarships to Jaya Dorf, Anita Frykberg, Bridget Goss, Vanessa Manzi, Laura Price, Katherine Potter, Matt Sandbank and Jessica Woodside.

Literature and Language: Comfort Award for Excellence in Creative Writing to Matt Sandbank and Emily MacWilliams; Bryan Award for Best Senior Paper to Tyson Carter and Robin Heimer; and Gullickson Award for Outstanding Rising Senior to Matt Sandbank.

Management and Accountancy: Excellence in Accounting Award to Matthew Paul Seale; Excellence in Management Award to Holly Elizabeth Bateman; Outstanding Directed Research Award to Jennifer Lynn DeRosa; Outstanding Senior Design Project Award to Tonia Nicole Walker; Western Carolina Industries Award for Outstanding Internship to Kenneth Hope Saunders III; and Robert D. Williams Outstanding Leadership, Service and Scholarship Award to Dara Catherine Jones.

Mass Communication: Mort Cohn Oustanding Senior Scholar Award to Adam Christopher Brooks and Ryan David Sniatecki and Nantahalla Scholarship to Sara Renee Miller.

Mathematics: Martha Game Scholarship to Aja Wright; Achievement in Mathematics Award to Stuart Bateman, Brandon Bucy, Nicholas Christian, Alyssa Dillow, Michaela Logue, Amelia Nutter, Jessie Schuman, Lisa Vaughn and Aja Wright; and Parsons Scholarships to Michaela Logue, David Childers and Jennifer Marshall.

Multimedia Arts and Science: First Place Prize for 2D Animation to Joseph Bowers; Second Place Prize for Online Database to Robert Gork; and Third Place Prize for Cha Cha Remix Video to Jennifer Bacon, Michael King and Laura Lewendowski.

Music: Certificate of Merit for Outstanding Service as Manager of Recording Studio to Tony Wade Harp and Outstanding Performance with UNCA Scholarship String Quartet Award to John Molloy Glenn III, Alicia Maya Madura, Jennifer Sarah Stanley and Meghann Ashley Turnbull.

Philosophy: Leadership Award to Christina Ellis.

Physics: Sigma Pi Sigma, physics honor society, inductions to Steven Kimmel and Michaela Logue.

Political Science: Academic Excellence Award to Jessica Hyland Goodrum; Outstanding Student Research Award to Katherine Ann Bailey and Jennifer Renee Rich; Gene Rainey Service Award to Taji Kommineni and Joshua Lutz Brekenfeld; Chair’s Award to John David Hine Jr., Daniel Alan Hunnicutt and Joshua Grant Pressley.[Josh is my buddy]

Sociology: Senior Scholar Award to Ellen Dittmar, Julie Fennell, D. Holton, Lily Polanski, Ryan Turner and Josh Watson; Senior Research Award to Heather Barrows, Jennie Bennett, Sally Philips, Jamie Ronzello and Damian Williams; and Senior Service Award to Margo Martin.
Student Government: Senator of the Year to Katie Etheridge and Executive of the Year
Nicole Foster.

Underdog Productions: Most Outstanding Service to Calley Stevens and Chris Summerville; Newcomer of the Year to Michael Dean Bowers; Veteran of the Year to Matt Demason; and Event of the Year to Midnight Bowling.

Media Contacts:

* Dr. Kevan Frazier, UNCA Student Life Director, 828/251-6585
* Jill Yarnall, UNCA Public Information Assistant Director, 828/251-6526

Now playing: [Days Of Wonder~The Wallflowers~Rebel, Sweetheart~5:11]